orlin.anderson
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 1
My Motorcycle: 2004 Kawaski Vulcan 800

Rookie From Eastern WA

#1 Unread post by orlin.anderson »

I have been contemplating starting a blog for a while now and have a little free time so Surprise!!! First I guess a little back ground about myself. I am a 10 year Navy Vet. Who has wanted to ride street bikes for as long as I can remember. Timing never seemed right and the wife has always threatened to divorce me if I ever rode one. I grew up riding dirk bikes ranging from little 75's up to 250's. I enjoyed every minute of it.

Okay skip ahead 12 years to Dec. '13. I was sitting at my dinning room table doing homework when low and behold my wife pops out of our bedroom holding my laptop. She hands it to me and asks me what I think..Puzzled I closely examine the craigslist post and picture of a 2004 Kawaski Vulcan 800. I told her, I liked the way it looked and she walked back in the bedroom. Still puzzled I went back to work on some Accounting nightmare I was having.

Two weeks later, Sitting on her bed (married guys will understand) I quizzically ask her if she was serious about looking at the bike...A bit timid I must admit. She finally said that she knew she could stop me and I would eventually buy one and for her sanity it couldn't be a beater. Shocked I felt her forehead and took her temperature..She wasn't sick....Whats the catch?!?!?

Just to make sure she understood what this entailed I explained to her about the cost of decent gear and MSF. I explained that learning to ride doesn't consist of one and a half day class. Time and miles were the only solution to this problem. She agreed, and a week later that beautiful bike was sitting in my garage. MSF was scheduled for Apr. 6th and the ebay and user reviews research ensued for the right gear.