Back in the saddle again.

ceemes
Legendary 2000
Legendary 2000
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 26
My Motorcycle: 1998 Triumph Trophy
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada, Sol 3, the Milky Way Galaxy, the Known Universe.

Back in the saddle again.

#1 Unread post by ceemes »

Hello and welcome to my blog, I hope I don't bore you too much.

Well, as the title says, I am back in the saddle again, much to the displeasure of my mother. Anyways, a little about myself.

I started riding when I was in my early twenties, namely because I needed cheap transportation after I killed my Mustang while still paying off the car loan. Then through a series of strange events, I ended up being one of the few motorcycle couriers running from Downtown Vancouver BC during the late 80's into the early 90's.

During that period, I went through two Honda CM400's, a Kawasaki KZ550 and finally a Honda CB650 Custom, which turned out to be the best courier bike I ever had, and the one that lasted the shortest amount of time one the job.

On a cold November day in 1993 my career as a motorcycle courier came to a sudden, crashing end as did the life of the CB650. I was stopped at a red north bound on Beatty Street at the Dunsmire Viaduct. It had just stopped raining and the sun had come out, reflecting off the buildings and water on the road. So I reached in my bag, pulled out my sunglasses and put them on. Looking up I noticed my light had turned green and the west bound traffic on Dunsmire had stopped, so I pulled out.....only to hear that horrid sound of brakes being locked up, yes, some fool was running the red and your fool of an author failed to see him coming.

Anyways, I do three things upon hearing that god awful sound, 1) look to my right and see a Ford 1Ton Pick Up baring down on me, 2) attempt to make a futile quick turn to the left and power away from him and 3) only have to time to think to myself "F**K, I'm dead".