The World on Two Wheels (a DMV Messiah Blog)

DMV Messiah
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 0

The World on Two Wheels (a DMV Messiah Blog)

#1 Unread post by DMV Messiah »

Hi,

Nice to meet you all! I'm DMV Messiah, a 30 yr. old from Austin, TX. I'm a writer by trade (some of us do actually make a good professional living that way) and just took up our mutually beloved hobby. I always knew I would, but just got the means to start this. I took the MSF class (with my beautiful girlfriend, pictured below), got completely street-legal, then bought a bike.

Before last month I'd never been on a bike. Not even on the back of one. Now I own a 2001 Suzuki Savage LS650 that I picked up on CL for $1650 (US)--with the guidance of this forum, I might add. I had to get some electrical "poo poo" fixed (blinkers and horn and such) before I was ready to ride this beast, but I did and now it's perfect.

And why would this mere 650/single cylinder be a "beast"? Well, perhaps the most distinguishing characteristic of this bike is the sound. The previous owner outfitted it with a Supertrapp Megaphone exhaust with ZERO baffles—a straight pipe that roars like Zeus just got kicked in the balls every time I even look at the throttle. Pedestrians plug their ears and urinate themselves. But the upside? I guarantee you that everyone knows this bike is around (at least 4 or 5 blocks--no exaggeration). A particular perk that gives me confidence since my girlfriend is going to be riding it too.

It's been three days that I've owned this bike, and I must say that I have never known any pleasure greater than experiencing the world on two wheels. The sweat, the smokey smell of the road, the acute awareness of your surroundings. You're attuned in a way that you aren't in a car. It's flying without leaving the ground; it's a joy I never even imagined.