MZ33
Site Supporter - Silver
Site Supporter - Silver
Sex: Female
Years Riding: 3
My Motorcycle: fabulous 2008 Kawi Versys

MZ33: Taking Aim at Colorado

#1 Unread post by MZ33 »

If it were held annually, I probably would have waited a year before setting my sites on the AMA Women’s Motorcycle Conference, but it isn’t. It is held every four years, and I don’t want to wait that long. Keystone, Colorado. Over 1300 miles. Hmm.

If you count the 125cc scooter, and most don’t, I started riding in August 2007. If you only count the 650 V Star, which is much heavier and had a much higher learning curve, then I started riding in April 2008. I logged roughly 3,000 miles last year, and learned a lot. Among other things, I learned that I wasn’t going 1300 miles on that bike without a whole lot of modifications. Seat, yes, no surprise, and bigger saddlebags, of course, but what was I going to do about the vibration from the handlebars into my hands? Noticeable after an hour, barely tolerable after two. I know I should take frequent breaks, but it seemed to me that this would be unbearable by the fifth or sixth hour.

For a bike with so many aftermarket parts and accessories, you’d think someone would have figured out how to fix this. But it doesn’t seem to bother very many people that own the bike. I never hear about it from other owners. Blues went from Vancouver to San Fran, for Pete’s sake!

So, I stepped back and took a hard look at the bike, what I liked and didn’t like about it. I talked to more than a few people, and they weren't surprised that a 650 V-twin vibrated enough to annoy me at highway speeds. And I do have a history of carpal tunnel-like symptoms several years back, but once I stopped having to write on triplicate forms and type all day, that went away.