Mookie
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 10
My Motorcycle: DNA

My first 'unintended' lay down!

#1 Unread post by Mookie »

I'm a noob back riding after a couple of decades off. While searching for a bike to buy, opinions here suggested a used bike since many said '...as a noob, you're probably going to drop it or lay it down...' I found the truth of that statement that last week.

Traveling in traffic in downtown Denver at less than 20 mph (on a '05 Honda Shadow VLX), I noticed that a car two slots in front of me was on and off the brakes as if searching for something. I thought I backed off enough but before I could realize it the car immediately in front of me came to a sudden and FULL stop - I guess the first car ahead found what they were looking for and slammed on the brakes to make a right turn. No chance for an avoidance swerve on either side, so I locked up everything I could lock up and slid, still vertical, into the car ahead of me. The sudden contact stopped the bike but my momentum threw me off to the right side. Luckily, no sliding on the pavement, no contact with the street with my head, etc. I was uninjured but found myself lying on the ground staring at the kill switch - which was then right in front of my face. I hit it and then tok stock of my physical condition. I was ok and quickly got on my feet to tend to the bike. The driver behind me stopped and helped me right the bike and get it out of traffic.

The lady I hit, got out and was very attentive to my condition and apologized for the sudden stop blaming the driver in front of her. She was actually pretty good about it all and made double sure I was ok before she left.
The driver who helped me with the bike might have been a rider since he offered that '...I was watching you and you did everything you possibly could...'. Faint praise.