Jordie Mack
Rookie
Rookie
Sex: Male
Years Riding: 30
My Motorcycle: Triumph Street Triple

Scary phenomenon

#1 Unread post by Jordie Mack »

I had this scary phenomenon happen to me twice now. Once 3 or 4 years back and again this past Monday. I am not a novice rider (at least chronologically) as I have 25 years plus experience. I’ve got a fair amount of track days and track day training under my belt. I’ve also gone through the Code Superbike School twice. I submit not out of bravado but more merely as background.

As I mentioned there was a situation 3 or 4 years back where I was heading out for a ride. I came to a stop sign (still in my neighborhood) and bobbled a bit. I wasn't paying attention and put my left foot down too early. I was probably at 2 mph at the time. It unsettled the bike a bit. Nothing close to a drop but took me by surprise. For the remainder of the ride anything slow speed (u-turns, stop signs, stoplights, right turn) I could have just as easily dropped the bike as not. For the record, I did not but I was amazed that after decades of riding my skill set seemed to have suddenly abandoned me. I pressed on for a while thinking what weirdness was happening would pass. It simply did not. Every stoplight was an adventure. I was analyzing everything searching for a reason that I was, essentially, losing my balance. I finally tucked my tail between my legs and went home early. In the spirit of ”getting back on the horse” I went out the next morning without the slightest hint of the problem and it’s remained that way...until Monday.

Same thing Monday. Every slow maneuver was a circus. I stalled the bike. I haven’t stalled a bike in 25 years. I dropped out of the ride and headed home. Same as the last encounter years before I went out again yesterday and had a spirited ride in the canyons with absolutely no hint of this weirdness.

Just wondering if anyone else has had this pretty weird psychological event?

catster
Rookie
Rookie
Years Riding: 3